What is Yoga / Yog?

What is Yoga / Yog?

For living a better life one should know the art of living and understand the meaning of life. Although our first duty is to have a body free from disease, life is much more than merely having a body without ailment or a store of wealth, name and fame in the society. Life is to draw inward, establish and know the self. Yoga / Yog is one such area where a human being should focus on. The benefits of yoga are tremendous.

Bharatiya (Indian) Sanskriti believes that every human soul is an integral part of the Almighty. After immense research on Yog by our great Saints and Rishis, prominent among them Maharishi Patanjali, Bharatiya Sanskriti and Ideology also believe that to unite it with all-pervading is Yog. It is the need of time to uphold and maintain the motto of Live ‘N’ Liven, live and lend life for the entire world.

Yoga alone can show us the path of peace and happiness. Yoga helps in making human life satisfied and balanced. It develops the right balance between the human body and mind. We get physical, mental and spiritual energy through Yog.

Benefits Of Yoga

Health does not mean merely a body without diseases or ailments but co-ordination of complete physical, mental and spiritual developments. Good health is the need of every human being and one can have good health by doing some exercises.

But among all exercises, Yoga is considered to be the only such exercise which by having a balanced influence on the anatomy of the human body, its systems, and functions, keeps it healthy. The Practise of Yog keeps the person far away from ailments. If sometimes ailments come our way we take no time to recover because Yog creates in our body a tremendous power of resistance and that is why the body does not fall easy prey to disease and Yog as such, enhances our work efficiency.

In Yog, our body is affected by Asanas, our mind and body by Pranayams and our mind and soul are affected by Dhyan (concentration). Yoga helps us in developing our personality and also living a sound and disciplined life.

Ashtang Yog

According to Maharishi Patanjali, there are eight limbs of Yog.

  1. Yama: For the upliftment and salvation of society.
  2. Niyama: For improving one’s own behavior and conduct.
  3. Asana: For keeping healthy the anatomy of our body, its systems, and functions.
  4. Pranayama: For removing mental disorders and purification of the mind.
  5. Pratyahara: For withdrawing our senses from the objects.
  6. Dharna: For enhancing our power of concentration.
  7. Dhyan: For purification of Chitt or consciousness.
  8. Samadhi: It is called the Superconscious state and is the ultimate goal of Yog.

Article Compiled by Mr. S. N. Gupta